Brandenburg Concerto dedicated to the king's brother was never played at Brandenburg court

The Brandenburg Concertos of Johann Sebastian Bach are considered an example from the new era of masterful collaboration between an orchestra and hybrid soloist groups.

The collection was composed between 1711 and 1720, and dedicated to Christian Ludwig, the younger and less fortunate brother of King Frederick I of Prussia, known as The Soldier King.

With this collection, Bach demonstrated the new possibilities of melding regular orchestral form with concerto grosso, a popular music genre of the Baroque period in which not one but a group of soloists plays with a chamber orchestra. The word grosso means large, for it required more soloists than it was common at the time.

Listen to Brandenburg Concerto no.5 for harpsichord, flute and violin, performed by Münchener Bach-Orchester with Karl Richter:

Unfortunately, as the youngest son in the family, Christian Ludwig lacked the funds to maintain such a talented orchestra. It is likely that this piece of music, even though written specifically for him, was never played at the Brandenburg court.

Share this story
  • The History of Popular Music

    Discover stories from each decade. Listen to gems from the 1960s, 1970s, and more.
  • Early Music

    Read all about the formative music of the past centuries. Enjoy the regal yet easy sounds of the Baroque and Renaissance.
  • Indian Classical Music

    Dive into the South Asian philosophy through Indian classical music. Learn about musical traditions of the Hindustani and Carnatic culture.
  • The Epoch of Romanticism

    Get a taste of the most beloved and fruitful music period. See the personalities behind the major shift of the eras — from Classical to Romantic.